[Runewarden] S&S spec, missing a lot of attacks

So, I started recently.
I'm sort of a complete newbie, sort of not. I played Aetolia 5 years ago, then real life happened, then now I'm back in another MUD.
I've always played a magic class, so being a melee class is quite unfamiliar ground to me, especially since the entire game system apparently changed 3 days after I started.

Anyway, now I'm a Runewarden on Sword and Shield. To be honest I'm don't really know what I'm doing.
My problem is that I miss a lot with my broadsword. And I mean a lot. I miss about 75% of all my attacks. I've died several times because I just keep believing that, maybe the next attack will hit, but nope I miss, and pop I'm off to see the guy underground. (Yeah I know my moss and potions, but it's still frustrating)
Of course, I know that my skill level in Weaponry and Weaponmastery has got to do with that, but I don't really know at what point I'll see a difference. It's one of those pile-of-sand questions isn't it? And I can't afford to put lessons into both, because Runelore wants attention too, and then Chivalry, and then there's still tradeskills...

So I'm actually more of looking for a reassurance that raising my Weaponmastery will improve my aim, or general tips, or just flat out tell me I'm doin' it wrong, then tell me what to do.

Sorry if I come across as incoherent, I'm a stream of consciousness writer.
Also, this is my first post... I usually lurk, but this thing has been bugging me.

Best Answer

Answers

• Rule of thumb pre-changes was don't use Long/Broadswords until Virtuoso in Chivalry, I would assume that translates over to Weaponmastery (maybe you could even start them earlier since the to-hit of Longs/Broads is fairly high compared to what average forging stats used to be).
    ~Kresslack's obsession~
  • KlendathuKlendathu Eye of the Storm
    New Announce regarding training weapons:

ANNOUNCE NEWS #4258
    Date: 01/08/2015 at 21:09
    To : Everyone