Newbie.. sort of

I am new to Achaea but I played Gemstone a long long time ago. I LOVE text-based rp. I'm thrilled to find this place. The emote system is totally different, though.. and it is taking me a while to get a handle on it. I think it will be marvelous when I'm more comfortable with it. Right now, I'm afraid to do more than 'SAY' for fear I'll get it wrong and disrupt someone else's immersion. I practiced a bit with the smelly drunken pygmy lady tonight. What I saw was something like.. Magierrah emotes (whatever it was) . I think that's what I read.. but I've been up all night trying to figure some of this out and I could be remembering it incorrectly. At any rate, it looked odd to me.. and scared me a bit, so I was afraid to use it with another player. I also need to learn Mudlet to develop some shortcuts to all the typing. At any rate, please be a bit patient with me while I figure all this out. I'll do my very best not to disrupt your immersion.

Comments

• Welcome to Achaea. You can throw yourself into things, really. Most people are generally pretty forgiving in that respect, particularly if you're new.
    - (Eleusis): Ellodin says, "The Fissure of Echoes is Sarathai's happy place."
    - With sharp, crackling tones, Kyrra tells you, "The ladies must love you immensely."
    - (Eleusian Ranger Techs): Savira says, "Most of the hard stuff seem to have this built in code like: If adventurer_hitting_me = "Sarathai" then send("terminate and selfdestruct")."
    - Makarios says, "Serve well and perish."
    - Xaden says, "Xaden confirmed scrub 2017."

• TharvisTharvis The Land of Beer and Chocolate!
    edited August 2015
    @Magierrah what you see and what they see is different, for example if I would type

Emote gives $Magierrah a friendly pat on the back.

I would see : You have emoted : Tharvis gives Magierrah a friendly pat on the back.
    you would see : Tharvis gives you a friendly pat on the back.