I told myself I wasn't going to do this...

2»

Comments

• I got fed up with trying to make maps in Zmud, or trying to fit the screen with asara's maps opened. I just memorized a bunch of places. Meant I was terrified of exploring new areas.

• Caoimhaen said:
    Before i knew cure systems existed and that i could ya know. Look at scrolls while i was taking a test. I literally sat down and wrote down every single herb in the game and what it cured. Then my best friend was like...you can look at the scrolls while they test you... later @Lanar‌ bought me svo and I was like, wait. It sips health for me? And cures things...woah. There is a reason I was house rank 1 for the first like..5 or 6 ig years..I thought I had to memorize everything in one go and I didnt want to get ousted for failing my test too many times. Heheh. I was a silly naive newbie.

That sounds like me.  I only started last year, but I'm one of those people who likes to write things down ... on actual paper, where I can scrawl notes or doodle things or 'look it's a tiny map segment of -- what the heck is this?'  And like that.

I was floored when I learned of curing systems.  My original thought was, 'if the affliction system is so complex it needs another computer program to fix your illnesses for you, why is there a player in the chair at all?' (Yes, 'RP'. But you can't RP your way out of the nausea curse.  Thankfully I had help when I was running about like a mad thing trying to find the proper cure for the stupid thing.  Hi, @Quei.)  I still kind of feel that way.  But you do have to make sure you have what you need, I guess, and my handwritten notes are still useful.