Should I stay with Windows or go with using Linux?

I was thinking of changing my OS to using Linux with Ubuntu seeing how there are a lot of flaws in Windows, the only bad thing is the guy who built my PC didn't give me any of the installation Disk :|. So do I need to have a installation disk to get rid of my windows? (I have windows 7)

Comments

• IIRC, Windows is generally better if you use a gaming rig, since most games are designed for it. Linux is superior for any other application, as long as your work can be done through Linux alternatives to Windows applications.

That said, I have zero experience on Linux, and I feel I wouldn't be trying it out for quite a while..unless League of Legends, Dota 2, and GW2 will be available for it.

League of Legends: IA ROCKS (NA)
    Guild Wars 2: erasariel.1532 - Devona's Rest (NA)
    Final Fantasy XIV: Novi Selea - Cactuar (NA)
    Steam: http://steamcommunity.com/id/ErasarielOfAchaea/
    Achaea: Erasariel (duh!)
  • If you just want to get rid of your windows installation, it's as easy as formatting your hard drive. A few things to consider before just wiping the Windows install and installing Ubuntu, though:

1) Though the situation's getting better, it can be difficult to find Linux drivers for some hardware, since manufacturers generally don't produce them, so you have to hope someone else needed it and decided to write one in their spare time. Not usually too much of a problem anymore, I think, but you might want to do a little research on whether there are drivers available for things like wireless cards, printers, and so on.

2) There is software that is written for Windows that does not have a Linux version. This is true of a lot of games, for example. Also things like MS Office, if you use any it. For a lot of stuff like Office, there are Linux programs that do the same thing, but quality can be spotty, so you should research replacements for any software you use a lot.